The LBJ School — 1970 to Today

The LBJ School continues to change the world. We are in awe of the leadership and generosity shown over the last 50 years and look forward to what the next 50 years and beyond will bring.



1970 LBJ School of Public Affairs opens as one of the first of its kind in the country with founding dean John Gronouski.

1977 Elspeth Rostow begins tenure as dean.





1991 Ann Richards. former Governor of Texas. gives the LBJ school commencement address.







2002 Center for Health and Social Policy begins work reducing social and health disparities in communities.





2011 The William H. Crook Program in International Affairs begins funding student internships in global development.



2014 Civil Rights Summit takes place at the LBJ Library and LBJ School, featuring four presidents and several civil rights icons, to mark the 50th anniversary of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.





2020 The LBJ School marks its 50th anniversary.





BEST

1970

SID W. RICHARDSON

FOUNDATION

1976 LBJ School

establishes Sid

in Public Affairs.

Richardson Chair

1979 Barbara Jordan serves as Distinguished Professor at the LBJ School.



1983 Max Sherman begins tenure as school's dean.



2000 RGK Foundation donates \$5 million to establish RGK Center for Philanthropy and **Community Service**





2005 Endowed fellowship is created to honor former Lt. Governor Ben Barnes.



2016 Center for the **Study of Race and Democracy** moves to the LBJ School from Tufts University.



2010 James and Claudia **Richter's** gift establishes the first of three Richter





2020 LBJ Women's Campaign **School** begins training women interested in running for public office or leading campaigns.







2020 UT Austin commissions statue of Julius Whittier, MPAFF '76, LBJ alumnus and the Longhorn's first Black football letterman.

TODAY